Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke win Nobel Prize for Literature for 2018 and 2019

Olga Tokarczuk and Peter HandkeImage copyright

Image caption

Olga Tokarczuk won for 2018 and Peter Handke is 2019’s winner

Polish author Olga Tokarczuk and Austria’s Peter Handke have been awarded a Nobel Prize for Literature.

Two winners were named – one for 2019 and one for 2018 – since a esteem was not awarded final year.

The Swedish Academy, that oversees a prestigious award, dangling it in 2018 after a passionate attack scandal.

Tokarczuk, who also won a Man Booker International Prize final year, was awarded a 2018 Nobel Prize, with this year’s Nobel going to Handke.

The 76-year-old Austrian playwright, author and producer was recognized for “an successful work that with linguistic skill has explored a periphery and a specificity of tellurian experience”, a academy pronounced in a statement.

However, he has been a rarely argumentative figure for his support for a Serbs during a 1990s Yugoslav war, and for vocalization during a 2006 wake of former Serb personality Slobodan Milosevic, who was indicted of genocide and other fight crimes.

Image copyright
Getty Images

Image caption

The winners accept a medal, a diploma and £740,000 in esteem money

In 2014, Handke even called for a Nobel Prize for Literature to be abolished, observant it brings a leader “false canonisation” along with “one impulse of courtesy [and] 6 pages in a newspaper”.

Both laureates have concluded to accept their awards this year, however, organisers said. Each will accept 9 million Swedish kronor (£740,000), as good as a endowment and a diploma.

The 2018 Nobel Prize was behind by a year after a predicament in a academy sparked by allegations opposite Jean-Claude Arnault, a father of Academy member Katarina Frostenson. He was condemned to dual years in jail in Oct after being convicted of rape.

Frostenson stepped down, and a events also led to allegations of dispute of seductiveness and a leaking of Nobel winners’ names. It all resulted in “reduced open certainty in a Academy”, according to a awards body.

Handke’s plaudits and controversy

Image copyright

Image caption

Handke was met by protests when he perceived a International Ibsen Award in Oslo in 2014

Handke, credited as one of a many thought-provoking writers in a German language, detonate onto a literary stage in a 1960s and “has for some decades been one of a many successful writers of contemporary fiction”, a Nobel judges said.

His many renouned works embody A Sorrow Beyond Dreams, published in 1975, that dealt with his mother’s self-murder in 1971.

The cabinet members pronounced they had also been “struck” by 2017 book Die Obstdiebin. “With good artistry, he explores a periphery and secret places,” they said.

He has also collaborated with film executive Wim Wenders, including on a book for a Bafta-nominated 1987 film Wings of Desire.

But he is an outspoken figure, and some of his comments have valid offensive. He once denied a Serbian electrocute during Srebenica and compared Serbia’s predestine to that of Jews during a Holocaust – nonetheless he after apologised for that “slip of a tongue”.

In 1999 he returned Germany’s prestigious Buechner esteem in criticism during Nato’s bombing of Belgrade, and was forced to reject another German esteem – a Heinrich Heine endowment – after an cheer in 2006.

Sir Salman Rushdie named Handke “Moron of a Year” in an essay for The Guardian in 1999 for his “series of ardent apologias for a genocidal regime of Slobodan Milosevic”.

When Handke came to collect a International Ibsen Award in Norway in 2014, he was greeted with demonstrators chanting “fascist” and holding placards job him a “genocide denier”.

Tokarczuk ‘looks during life from above’

Image copyright

Image caption

Tokarczuk took partial in an equivalence impetus in Wroclaw, Poland, during a weekend

Tokarczuk, 57, deliberate a heading Polish author of her generation, was rewarded “for a account imagination that with encyclopaedic passion represents a channel of bounds as a form of life”.

The author is a Polish best-seller whose books mix a genuine with a mystical.

Her entrance novel was published in 1993, and her breakthrough came 3 years after with Primeval and Other Times, that is set in a fabulous encampment and traced Poland’s story from World War One to a 1980s.

“She’s a author rapt by internal life, though during a same time desirous by maps and suppositional thought, looking during life from above,” a judges said.

Her work “centres on emigration and informative transitions” and “is full of wit and cunning”, they added.

Last year, she won a Man Booker International Prize for Flights, some-more than a decade after it was creatively published in Poland.

The Nobel cabinet was also “very impressed” with her epic chronological novel The Books of Jacob, set in a 18th Century, that “presents a abounding scenery of a little-known section in European history”.

Tokarczuk co-wrote a screenplay for a crime film Spoor, that was a country’s entrance for a best unfamiliar denunciation film during a 2018 Oscars.

A domestic romantic who does not bashful divided from criticising Poland’s worried government, she has turn a 15th womanlike leader of a Nobel Prize out of 116 novel laureates.

Follow us on Facebook, on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, or on Instagram during bbcnewsents. If we have a story idea email