Rishabh Pant commits ‘schoolboy error’, redeems himself later

Rishabh Pant runs out Liton Das in a 2nd T20I between India and Bangladesh in Rajkot on Thursday (IANS Photo)

Drama over Rishabh Pant’s stumping attempts ruled Rajkot for a while in Thursday’s T20I between India and Bangladesh. Pant done a blunder of collecting a round in front of a stumps before perplexing to outcome a stumping in Yuzvendra Chahal’s initial over, mouth-watering critique on amicable media.

However, Pant did redeem himself by dual acts in a successive overs bowled by Chahal. In Chahal’s subsequent over, he came adult with what looked like a classical daze ploy. He unsuccessful to collect a round though still went adult in shrill appeal. The batsman, presumably thrown off by a volume of his appeal, was thrown off and went for a unsure single.

Pant was discerning to react. He dived towards a round and threw a round during a stumps to get Liton Das out and get India their initial wicket of a match.

There was emancipation in Chahal’s third over as well, as Pant – this time successfully – stumped Soumya Sarkar, as Bangladesh found themselves in a mark of bother.

However, there was play surrounding this stumping as well. On this arise too, Pant had collected a round only behind a stumps. The TV referee lingered over a replay of his collection for a while, and to a startle of Indian fans, ‘Not Out’ was a vigilance flashed on a hulk screen. Soumya Sarkar started walking behind to a pitch, though a vigilance afterwards altered to ‘Out’ on a screen. The batsman was afterwards escorted out of a margin by a fourth umpire.

Batting first, Bangladesh managed to post 153/6.