Track Asia Cup: Ronaldo Laitonjam shines with Asian record, India adds 10 medals

Ronaldo Laitonjam. (Source: Twitter)

India’s Ronaldo Laitonjam continued his considerable run, formulating an Asian record while also winning a bullion award during a Track Asia Cup cycling foe here on Tuesday.

After winning dual bullion medals on day one on Monday, a youth universe champion group member combined an Asian record in men’s youth 200m time hearing eventuality and after won a bullion award in a youth men’s scurry eventuality on Tuesday.

Ronaldo clocked 10.065 seconds in a subordinate turn of 200m time hearing to mangle a prior record hold by China’s Liu Qi who had finished a foe in 10.149 seconds in 2018.

“Qualifying for a finals was in my mind though when we saw a score, we was astounded and happy,” Ronaldo pronounced after violation a record.

“Juniors are doing good and many some-more annals will mangle in a entrance years. Our group is scheming tough and a formula are entrance forward,” manager RK Sharma said.

The award rush continued for India as they grabbed 10 some-more medals — 4 gold, 4 china and 2 bronze — on Day 2 after winning 12 medals on day one during a Indira Gandhi Indoor stadium.

The Cycling Federation of India eventuality was dominated by a horde nation final year and a same story is maturation this year also.

The 17-year-old Ronaldo dominated a youth men’s scurry final and led a foe to finish during a tip of a podium. Rojit Singh won a china for India to supplement another medal. Kazakhstan’s Alexandr Safarov claimed a bronze medal.

Ronaldo was not a usually star of day two. Two-time Junior World Championships medallist Esow Alben won a bullion award in a chosen men’s scurry eventuality with a widespread performance. He had finished behind Tsz Chun Law of Hong Kong in a subordinate turn though avenged it in a final. Amarjeet Singh Nagi of India finished third.

If a start to a second day was record breaking, Venkappa Shiv Kengalgutti done it even some-more noted as he won a bullion award in a youth men’s 3 km particular pursuit, clocking 3.30: 106 minutes.

It was a 1-2 finish for India in a eventuality as Mula Ram, representing India’s second group SAINCA, won a china medal. The bronze award went to Iran’s Labib Ali.

Triyasha Paul and Nikita Nisha gave India a 1-2 finish in a youth women’s scurry eventuality and combined dual some-more medals to India’s tally. Paul and Nisha had won medals on day one as well.

On day two, in a chosen men’s 4km particular office event, India’s Punam Chand prisoner a china medal, descending only brief opposite Malaysia’s Mohammad Zamri who won a bullion medal.

But it was a double pleasure for Indian chosen women’s 3km particular office foe as Elangbam Devi and Irungbam Devi gave a silver-bronze finish in a event.

In a bullion award race, Elangbam clocked 4.02:345 minutes. She was beaten by Uzbekistan’s Renata Baymetova who clocked 3.53:120 seconds. The bronze award was won by Irungbam Devi who clocked 4:01.398 mins to kick Alyona Abramchuk of Kazakhstan.

India’s second group — Sports Authority of India National Cycling Academy — won a initial award when Swasti Singh won a bronze in youth women’s 2km particular pursuit.

Harshveer Singh suffered a unsatisfactory finish in a chosen men’s 15km blemish foe as he unsuccessful to finish on a podium. In a universe category field, a Indian finished fifth as a bullion was prisoner by Muhammad Shaari of Malaysia.

Denis Burnashov and Alexandr Bekenov, both from Kazakhstan, won a china and bronze medals respectively.